What’s in a Name?

Juliet:
“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

Romeo and Juliet (II, ii, 1-2) –Shakespeare

  

When you google the title, you’ll find enumerable entries. However, I was just trying to make sure I have the right quote so I didn’t go any further than the first entry–www.enotes.com

 

 The past dew days I was drawn to reading more of Bob Martin’s LIP instead of blogging here. It was interesting to see the different names the Philippines is known to some–with their own deduction of who or what generation  is using it. It never mattered to me if it is PI until it became synonymous to a Filipino #$%^&! Maybe they were right PI belonged to my generation when it was simply Philippine Islands. The have several variations as Phils, RP, and more. Personally, I prefer just the Philippines…and I am not touchy about it. I have different Phil sore spots.

 

I never intended this to be a topic in my blog, but yesterday while preparing for work (I usually tune-in to the news) the reporter was randomly interviewing a few people on the streets about the proposed name change for Orange County–The OC. [I live here so I thought I’ll throw this in.] It seems the county supervisors felt the need to give the 1889 name a facelift. A few weeks ago, it was the John Wayne Airport to become JWA of OC where one of John Wayne’s sons apparently objected. Was it a year ago or more? The Angels of Anaheim became the LA Angels of Anaheim, and I believe it got to be a pretty expensive squabble…but what do I care anyway? My simple name has been spelled in so many ways, and I even adopted a few of my own spelling variations.

 

The name change was even on the front page of the OC Register which I really didn’t read yet. This name must have been used a long time ago before the influx of all OC reality show(s). I guess the proposed changes would be: The OC Parks, The OC Public Library, The OC Dana Point Harbor. Is this getting in-step with the pop culture? It seems the reason given was some sort of saving money to the tune of $500,000.00 a year. Really? Cheaper to have new signs with just 2 letters…I suppose.

 

Don’t take me seriously…I’m just relying on what I heard on the news while I was still half-awake. I have no urge to read the newspaper any further. It’s just the “what’s in a name” surge of curiosity. Will the real Orange stand?

 

 

2 responses to “What’s in a Name?

  1. Sorry…I don’t know why this one won’t accept the paragraph breaks. I’ve edited it several times.

  2. I guess with new WP layout I was able to fix the paragraph breaks. (Plus 1)
    ———–
    OK…now I get it. I hope I won’t forget this: dashboard>comments>click commenter’s name.

Leave a Reply

