Range of Trust

When we venture into unknown territories, we could only be grateful of some strangers’ random acts of kindness. How much could we rely on our instincts? Between 1 and 10, 10 as the highest range of trust in your scale, what would it be for you in the Philippines? Would it vary from city to city, island to island…or what about from country to country? Would Father Time be a factor? In this day and age…proceed with extreme (?) caution.

Four years ago—before I decided to buy our place in Luzon as temporary stopover before ‘real’ retirement—I just typed “travel to Philippines” and “Philippine Real Estate” in the hope that I could get my own perspective of things and places that were ones familiar. Two decades was a huge gap in time (plus I have my husband who would be seeing the Philippines in living colors for the first time) even if I have my family as my fall-back position. I came across the websites of two foreigners married to Filipinas. There were several others but the fact that they were the ones involved in the things that interested me, I remembered them again when their websites came up in my recent searches.

Bill and Lorna in Boracay: http://asiabill.pages.web.com/id18.html  where you can get your perspective on budget stay in the Philippines or http://asiabill.pages.web.com/ where they have a specific down-to-earth instruction on how to get to their place from the airport which I believe will be the same to most places of your destination. It just fascinates me to see them in the same light that I could be in one day, but I don’t have the guts to do everything that they’re doing…I have just started with the structure now and how to grow is still a question…maybe more on education slant/distance learning, but I can’t see myself doing all the fun stuff of adventure. Perhaps, I could try on a smaller scale one day when everything is in place.

Another interesting guy that would probably be knowledgeable if you’re going further down south is Bob Martin. Before, I’ve seen his www.wowphilippines.com/ –not in my realm, but fascinating entrepreneurial spirit, maybe…a small boutique in one nook of my building to keep my renters self-sufficient is all I’m capable of doing. Recently, I came across his www.mindanao.com site that any adventurous nature lovers should check out. Davao is a favorite tourist spot and his site is a good link to many places in the Philippines, esp. the wifi hotspots.

4 responses to “Range of Trust

  1. thanks for including us in this blog and for your kind words. Everything rewarding takes time so stay focused on your goals and intentions with a positive attitude and you’ll be like a magnet attracting people to you.

  2. This is a very unexpected comment and I didn’t know you’ll come across my blog site but your encouraging words came at a time when I needed one. Thanks!

  3. To me it is necessary to find

  4. HT2Bnen: Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

